Call me, maybe?

Why do so many companies in London insist on displaying their phone numbers in the wrong format? And it’s not just them. When people relay London numbers to others they often adopt the same ways.

People – the beginning of a London number is 020. That’s the code for London.

Not 0207 or 0208.

The second and third part are the telephone number. It will start with a 7 or an 8 and sometimes even a 3. I’m sure more are coming.

The point is, I work in London and so I don’t have to dial the 020. So if you tell me a London number I’ll immediately forget the first part, the 020, ‘cos i don’t have to dial it.

No-one alters postcodes to their own version. The postcode for Buckingham Palace is SW1A 1AA. Not SW 1A1 AA.

It’s not rocket science.

J

About jokerbiker

Pyromaniac (I do firework displays) Harley owner Husband Father Grandfather
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

